Welcome to the home page for the 2018 SCJFL 1st Quarter Speech Only Tournament - The Wolpert-Gawron Invitational tournament hosted by Jefferson Middle School on Oct 19, 2018 for Middle School students.

Status: Tournament Completed

2018 SCJFL 1st Quarter Speech Only Tournament:

The Wolpert-Gawron Invitational


On Friday, October 19th, 2018 Jefferson Middle School will be hosting the 2018 SCJFL 1st Quarter Speech Only Tournament - The Wolpert-Gawron Invitational, and we hope that your school or organization will be joining us. 

Location: 1372 East Las Tunas Drive San Gabriel, CA 91776


You may register competitors at: 


We will close entries on Tues. Oct 16th at noon, PST.


– Storytelling (5 min.)

– SPAR (rookie and open divisions)

– Expository (5 min., no visual aids)

– Duo (10 min.)

– Prose (7 min.)

Judging Requirements: 

Each participating school or organization is being asked to supply 1 judge per 5 entries. Judging names should be submitted at the time of registration. If you need to register judges but don’t know their names yet, please use your school name with a number to indicate the judges you will be providing (i.e. Wilshire judge 1; Wilshire judge 2; etc.). $40 uncovered judge fee. 


$10 per individual entry (Duo is $20)

Please make checks payable to: Jefferson Middle School Speech and Debate. 

Changes or drops after Wednesday October 17, 2018 at 6pm will be charged a $10 nuisance fee.

$200 league fee (will only apply once this school year and will go towards league needs throughout the year)

Please make checks payable to: SCJFL

See Robert Cannon for details


3:30 – All schools meet in the gym for announcements and postings

4:00 – Round 1

5:00 – Round 2

6:00 – Round 3

7:30 – Final Round

9:00 – Awards

Food: Food trucks will be on campus (see the invitation for more details)

Postings will be on the in the gymnasium.

Rules: All rules can be found in the SCJFL by-laws at SCJFL.org

Tournament host: Alison Hussar - Jefferson Middle School

Tournament director: Robert Cannon - Wilshire Academy